Three Way Race for Otter Tail County Sheriff

Three Way Race for Otter Tail County Sheriff Click to Enlarge

(KBRF-FERGUS FALLS) The filing period for Otter Tail County government offices closed Tuesday with on addition to the sheriff’s race. Perham Police Chief Jason Hoaby has thrown his hat in the ring for a chance at replacing retiring Sheriff Brian Schlueter. Other candidates interested in the job are Fergus Falls Public Safety Chief Kile Bergren and Chief Deputy at the sheriff’s office, Barry Fitzgibbons.

Incumbents in the county offices of Auditor/Treasurer, Recorder, and Attorney are running unopposed.

There’s a three-way race for the District 2 County Commissioner position, serving northwest Otter Tail County. Incumbent Wayne Johnson of Pelican Rapids has competition from announced candidates Everett Erickson of Pelican Rapids and Jeff Gontarek of Erhard.

Another three-way race is in the District 4 position, serving the southeast portion of the county. Incumbent Roger Froemming didn’t file for re-election. Charles Debilzen and Robert Lahman, both from Parker’s Prairie, are seeking the position. They are joined by Betty Murphy of Underwood.

The only other contested race is for District 2 Soil and Water Supervisor. Randall Carow and Wayne Enger, both of Perham, entered the race. The third candidate is Cordell Huebsch of New York Mills.

Leave a comment