State Basketball Recap

State Basketball Recap Click to Enlarge

Boys Basketball

Class A

The Henning Hornets captured their first-ever state championship with a victory against North Woods 67-42. The Hornets were able to finish the season with a record of 31-1. Senior guard Sam Fisher led the way with 22 points. The Hornets played an up-tempo style game that North Woods could not slow down. North Woods took home 2nd place honors for the 3rd straight year. The Hornets were appearing in the 3rd state appearance and first since 1966 when they lost to Edina.

In the 3rd place game, Ada-Borup fell to Spring Grove in overtime 72- 68.

The Wells Fargo All-Tournament team:
Class 1A: Isaac Fink, Decker Scheffler, Springfield; Mason Miller, Ada-Borup; Ethan Matzke, Alex Folz, Spring Grove; Cade Goggleye, Trevor Morrison, North Woods; Parker Fraki, Sam Fisher, Isaac Fisher, Henning.

Class AA

Minnehaha Academy won their 3rd straight State Championship defeating Minneapolis North 69-52. Junior guard Jalen Suggs led the Redhawks in scoring with 20 points. A different team in Class AA will have a chance next year as Minnehaha Academy will move to Class AAA for the 2019-2020 campaign.

In the 3rd place game, Perham fell to Lake City 51-47. Finn Diggins of Perham was named to All-Tournament Team.

All-Tournament Team Class 2A: Preston Keaveny, Melrose; Finn Diggins, Perham; Nathan Heise, Reid Gastner, Lake City; Nasir El-Amin, Davon Townley Jr., Eli Campbell, Minneapolis North; Jalen Suggs, Prince Aligbe, Chet Holmgren, Minnehaha Academy.

Class AAA

Top-seeded DeLaSalle added another State Championship to their resume as they dominated the Class AAA field, with a 63-56 victory over No. 2 Waseca in the championship. It was the eighth Class AAA crown since 2012 for the Islanders, which included a state-record six crowns in a row from 2012-2017.

All-Tournament Team

Class 3A: J’Vonne Hadley, Mahtomedi; Max Gerstner, Holy Angels; Adam Williams, Princeton; Medi Obang, Austin; Kyreese Willingham, Andrew Morgan, Malik Willingham, Waseca; Tyrell Terry, Jamison Battle, Kameron Givens, DeLaSalle.

Class AAAA

Hopkins captured another title in the 4A game with a win against Lakeville North 55-40. It was the 8th state championship in school history and the first since 2016.


Class 4A: Drake Dobbs, Eden Prairie; Courtney Brown, East Ridge; Tommy Chatman, Dain Dainja, Park Center; Tommy Jenssen, Tyler Wahl, Jack Rusch, Lakeville North; Dane Zimmer, Kerwin Walton, Zeke Nnaji, Hopkins.

Leave a comment