Dozens of Minnesota Counties and Tribes to Receive Federal Disaster Assistance

WASHINGTON, DC--Fifty-one Minnesota counties and four tribes are eligible to receive federal disaster aid after they were impacted by devastating storms and flooding. The Presidential federal distaster declaration was announced Wednesday. Counties and tribes in our area eligible to receive the federal aid include Clay, Grant, Mahnomen, Norman, Polk, Roseau, Traverse, Wilkin, Red Lake Band of Chippewa and the White Earth Nation.

Other counties included:

Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Jackson, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Olmsted, Pennington, Pipestone, Ramsey, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Winona, and Yellow Medicine Counties and the Prairie Island Indian Community, Upper Sioux Community.

“This disaster declaration will help communities repair the damage to roads, bridges, and critical infrastructure across Minnesota,” U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar said. “This relief is going to help communities repair the damage to roads, bridges, and critical infrastructure as well as provide support to Minnesotans so they can fully recover from the disaster and move forward with their lives.”

“If you want to help communities recover, you have to rebuild roads and bridges so farms can operate, business’ doors stay open, and people thrive,” U.S. Senator Tina Smith said. “This declaration will help ensure that Minnesotans are given access to additional resources to assist with just that.”

It's in response to widespread major flooding, blizzards and gale-force winds earlier this year that are estimated to have caused 40 million dollars in damage to infrastructure. Minnesota Governor Tim Walz says the disaster aid is welcome "after an exceptionally difficult transition from winter to spring." The federal government will pay 75 percent of the cost to repair public infrastructure and the state will cover the remaining 25 percent, using money from a special contingency fund.

Leave a comment