Local Election Results

Local Election Results Click to Enlarge

DETROIT LAKES, MN--Detroit Lakes voters say "yes" to referendums. Detroit Lakes School District's 49.8 Million Dollar Building Bond Referendum passed by 529 votes (4,113 Yes-3,584 No) or with 53 percent of the vote. Watching the results come in all night at the Becker County Courthouse was a member of the Detroit Lakes School District Referendum committee Ron Sprafka (listen here) who was a little overwhelmed with relief at the passage of a building bond referendum in the district.

City of Detroit Lakes saw overwhelming approval for it's request from voters to approve a half percent sales tax to finance a new $6.7 million police department facility. It passed by 65.7 percent of voters.

Detroit Lakes City Council seat results saw Natalie Bly and incumbent Madalyn Suuke winning the two At-Large seats and incumbent Jay Schurman retaining his seat in Ward 2.

Natalie Bly and incumbent Madalyn Suuke win At-Large seats on Detroit Lakes City Council.

Detroit Lakes School District saw newcomers April Thomas and Jen Pedersen win seats along with incumbent Kylie Johnson.

Incumbent Kylie Johnson retains seat and Jen Pedersen, April Thomas win seats on Detroit Lakes School Board

In other local races:

Becker County Sheriff Todd Glander retained his seat with over 81 percent of the vote over challenger Al Fowler. (Hear Sheriff Glander here)

A nail-biter in Otter Tail County for the Sheriff's post. According to results posted on the Minnesota Secretary of State's website, winning by the slimmest of margins was Barry Fitzgibbons who ended with six votes more than Kile Bergren after all ballots from 92 precincts in Otter Tail County were tallied.

Frazee's new mayor is Ken Miosek who won by 27 votes or with 52 percent of the vote over Mark Flemmer.

Winning the top votes for the two Frazee City Council seats were Mark Kemper and Nicole Strand.

Frazee Vergas School District voters elected Matt Bauer, Daneele Shipman, Kimberly Antonsen and Nathan Matejka to fill the four school board seats.

Building bond referendum Questions 1 and 2 for 17.1 and 8.4 Million dollar projects in the Frazee Vergas School District failed but Question 3 building bond referendum for 3.4 Million Dollars for HVAC improvements passed with 55 percent of the vote.

In Perham

Voters passed by 66 percent of the votes the half cent sales tax for improvements and an expansion at the PACC. The sales tax would raise up to $5.2 million over as many as 20 years to put toward the project.

The two candidates elected to the Perham City Council were Brad Schmidt and Fred Lehmkuhl.

In Lake Park Audubon School District, the four elected to the School Board are Marvin Vareberg, Skye Bjerke, Becky Mitchell and David O'Connell.

State House Seats

In our House of Representative District races, incumbents prevail: District 2B incumbent Steve Green, a Republican from Fosston retained his seat with 61 percent of the vote; In District 4B, Paul Maquart a Democrat from Dilworth won with 59 percent of the votes.

U.S. Congressional District 7

In U.S. Congressional District 7, incumbent Collin Peterson retains his seat with 52 percent of votes.

Leave a comment