​Michael Fairbanks re-elected as White Earth Chairman

​Michael Fairbanks re-elected as White Earth Chairman Click to Enlarge

WHITE EARTH, MINN. – White Earth Reservation held their Primary Election on Tuesday, June 9. Six certified candidates ran for Chairperson and 11 competed for District III Representative. Both positions are four-year terms. The election was originally scheduled for March 31 but was moved to June 9 for safety reasons due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Here are the unofficial results for the top two candidates for each position:


Michael Fairbanks (Incumbent) 967 / 57.53%

Kenneth R. Fox Jr. 392 / 23.32%

District III Representative

Eugene (Umsy) Tibbetts (Incumbent) 302 / 36.39%

Cheryl “Annie” Jackson 124 / 14.94%

Since Fairbanks won the election with more than 50 percent of the vote, he is automatically re-elected as chairman. The top two candidates for District III Representative will now move on to the General Election scheduled for August 18. The election results are expected to be officially certified on Wednesday (June 10) afternoon.

See unofficial results below:

Leave a comment